Like a Bull in a Pharmacy…

JMCP cover – May 2012

I am pleased to announce that my painting “Toroscape 03” has been chosen for the cover of the May 2012 edition of JMCP. I had been contacted some weeks ago by email:

“…I am very impressed with your art, especially the Toroscape 03 painting! My name is Sheila Macho, and I am the Cover Editor of a non-profit pharmaceutical magazine titled JMCP (Journal of Managed Care Pharmacy), whose parent organization is AMCP (Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy) of Alexandria, Virginia, USA. The magazine is published nine times per year, and we feature a different work of art on every cover (similar to what JAMA [Journal of the American Medical Association] does). Our audience is mainly pharmacists and physicians…

We are interested in using the image of your Toroscape 03 painting for our May 2012 magazine cover. You’ve really captured a power bullfighting scene with your painting, and I admire the bold brushstrokes. I have submitted the image of your painting to our editor-in-chief, Fred Curtiss, PhD, and he has enthusiastically approved the selection for the May 2012 JMCP cover…”

I want to thank you Sheila and the whole magazine for featuring my art on the cover and for the great article about myself and my art accompanying the cover. My Art has been featured in quite a lot of  magazines and event promotions around the world, but I must say that from the many that have appeared worldwide, this one probably represents me best. More than anything it shows a deep respect for the artist, and this means the world to me!

If you are interested to get more information about this organisation, please visit their website www.amcp.org

You will also find there the online version of the magazine.

And here the link for the article itself

Toroscape 03, as well as nearly all my bullfight paintings and artworks,  are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widget below

Art Prints

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle Hart
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 18:34:49

    It’s too bad that you choose to put your obviously beautiful artistic talent at the service of cruelty and barbaric acts. Torturing an animal until he dies is certainly not noble, neither is it courageous. I understand that it’s a tradition and part of the Spanish culture, but most countries have had to stop, at one moment or another, a “tradition” that was simply a misnomer for igorance and cruelty, whether towards animals or humans. History is full of cruel traditions, but most civilized countries come to realize that and they put a stop to those barbaric acts. As far as the treatment of animals goes, Spain is very much still in the Middle Ages… I do believe that most Spanish people are against it and that it’s being upheld by macho types, sociopaths, old school die hards and ignorant and uneducated people. Hopefully, as those old fools die out, perhaps the younger generation will realize that you don’t have to torture an animal to be manly. That, on the contrary, respect for animals can be very sexy! Anyone taking pleasure at the sight of pain, blood and suffering is not quite right in the head, as fas as I’m concerned. Actually, it’s quite pathetic…

  2. Miki
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 09:52:05

    Hi Danielle, thank you for taking the time of writing what you think. And also for the indirect compliment about my art. I do much more than bullfight paintings by the way..
    Anyway, I totally understand what you say, it is very well put and argumented, and I even suspect that deep inside that I agree with you.
    But I have been often insulted in my artist life for painting the bulls, and I must say, I am not able anymore to enter any debate about it and explain my position.
    At least I thank you for staying polite to me, it does mean a lot to me!

  3. Danielle Hart
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 12:05:52

    Hi MIki,

    If I made you think a little bit harder about the suffering of the bulls, then I will have accomplished something… Gandhi once said: “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated”. I think Spain has a ways to go on that subject (given the horrors and sadism of the Galgos situation, the suffering of the bulls and donkeys and the general lack of empathy it seems towards animals in general). Hopefully, soon, change will come from within Spain. Having said that you are very talented and I wish you well.

    Danielle

Leave a Reply

