Angry Little Bull

Angry Little Bull - by Miki

I found that angry little bull this morning in one of these enormous drawers where I put the paintings I haven’t framed or sold yet. I was alerted but some noises inside the drawer and thought I better have a look. Well, as soon as I opened it, the little beast jumped at my face, apparently very impatient to get out!

When he had calmed down, I looked at it deep in the eyes, but I did not recognise him. I mean, I could not remember having ever painted it. Might be this the reason why he was so angry? Anyway, I went to my bullfight gallery, and suddenly remember. This was one of the paintings I had digitally altered. I do that sometimes. I paint some bullfight scene in watercolour, and when it is finished I don’t like it, or I get bored with the tender colours, or with the evanescent look so typical to watercolours. Then I put it into my computer and worked on it with the more vibrant digital tools and structures. I call it “Toroscape”, the ending “scape” being in my work always a sign that the paintings have been created partially or totally digitally. And this is what happent to that little bull, he had been digitally treated.. well, when I look at the original painting today, I must understand his anger: he was quite nice as he was! This is why I have decided to present it as such today, exactly the way he first came to world !

Some people will moan again, that I make bullfight appear nice, soft and tender. I would agree with them, bullfight is everything else! But I can’t help for my paintings, I can’t hardly take the responsibility for them! They are the result of a very intuitive impulse, and what comes out comes out, I have no control about it. I could also argue that at that point of the corrida, when the guy is fighting with his yellow and pink cape, no blood has run yet! So at least I cannot be accused of hiding the blood here! And also I must think of the business: I had many clients, mainly women, who wanted a bullfight painting by me, but they didn’t want to see any blood on it… I have to please these delicate souls too, this is my job! 🙂

This painting is available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Please click on the widget below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”. Just click on my face… but be tender please!

Leave a Reply

