Red

12bullfightcorridatoro2010

“Tired”

In my last post I was writing about the use of the colour blue in my bullfight paintings, which seems to be quite unusual. Some people categorically don’t like it as they think that bullfight must spin around warm colours, others like it because it is unusual, and some  perhaps need time to get used to it…

A few days later, I received the following mail:

” Hello, my name is Tom. I am from England. I am taking GCSE art on the subject of red and have themed it all around bullfighting and Spanish culture. For my project I need an artist study and through research on the internet found your home site and its greatly interesting and your works have significantly influenced how i plan to do my final piece. I was wondering whether you would mind if i could complete my artist study on you and your pieces.

Gracias

Kind regards”

Honestly, I  quite often receive mails from young students, who like my art so much that they want to write their final work about  me. This is always a great moment for me, as I believe that one can be very proud to be able to inspire young people.

But this one was a very special joy for me. I feel quite close to the whole bull and bullfight world, not only with my art but with my heart too. Although I understand the people who are against it or even hate it, I always feel very sad when they attack it without even knowing what they are speaking about. To meet a young man, who comes from a different culture, and chooses bullfight to make his final work on it is simply GREAT!

I was so touched that I asked Tom to tell me a little bit more about his project and which bullfight painting of mine he more associates with “Red”.  He was kind enough to send me the following answer:

“… The subject of Red was one offered by the exam body but elaboration on the subject was left entirely to the student. For me the typically red bull fighter’s cape links bullfighting to the title. My idea is that the colour red, as a hot colour, can often symbolise anger which could be present in the bull, and red can also reflect blood spilt in the manner of fighting. So far I have completed primary studies on the way red fabric flows mimicking the red cape, and many secondary studies, using different media, of matadors and bulls. While originally I intended to emphasize the red of the cape and any blood present I have begun to extend the red beyond the cape to become the principle colour of the matador, the bull and even surrounding landscape. In this I am attempting to bring the anger and heat through as well as depicting the scene, and of course, it remains close to the title.

The painting I associate most with red is “Tired” fundamentally because reds and oranges
are the main colours, but also my personal interpretation is the sate of the bull reflects how its weaking and links to the blood spilt in the fight. I have been studying Spanish for a number of years and intend to take it for A-level next year, other than France, Spain is the only place I have been on holiday and I love the culture. However I have not yet had the chance to view a bullfight so my direct link to it is somewhat limited… “

I want here to thank Tom for his direct, wonderful contribution to my blog, and for giving me the hope back,  that bullfight will not die… Many people argue, that bullfight will automatically die by lack of spectators within 1 or 2 generations… perhaps not? Are perhaps our young people from today more tolerant?

Well, I shall write a post soon about the death of bullfight…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Buğra
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 11:40:03

    Thank You…;)

  2. ricktipton
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 13:26:57

    Bravo ‘Finally found you again Miki’ Hi is all I’ll say for now and keep up the great paintings!

  3. Joël
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 22:39:34

    Je ne saurai pas exprimer avec mon pauvre vocabulaire anglais la force qui ressort de ton tableau. On sent le matador dominant le toro, immobile, fier, les pieds plantés au sol et infligeant ce qui me semble être une passe de soumission, cassant l’élan du fauve en lui faisant baisser la tête, d’un court mouvement de la muleta…

    Cette palette de couleurs rouges est indissociable de la tauromachie et de la puissance qui est liée à ces mouvements.

    Quant à la mort annoncée de la corrida, effectivement, rien n’est moins sur en lisant le texte de Tom !

Leave a Reply

